Japanese Bowl

I’m like one of those Japanese bowls
That were made long ago
I have some cracks… in me
They have been filled with gold

That’s what they used back then
When they had a bowl to mend
It did not hide the cracks
It made them shine instead.

So now every old scar shows
From every time I broke
Anyone’s eyes can see
I’m not what I used to be
But in a collectors eyes
All of these jagged lines
Make me more beautiful
Worth a much higher price

I’m like one of those Japanese bowls
I was made long ago
I have some cracks you can see
See how they shine…
Of Gold

Peter Mayer

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Japanese Bowl

  1. Thank you. Appreciated the poem, reminded me of the story about the cracked pot. Blessings, Maria

  2. Kathleen says:

    I keep coming back to this song. It has been so healing to me. Thank you, so much! Kathleen

Leave a Reply

